With the formation of the College of Surgeons on 17 August 2004, the College has taken on greater steps into the surgical era. Under the wing of the College, there are 9 separate Chapters covering the disciplines of Cardiothoracic Surgery, General Surgery, Hand Surgery, Neurosurgery, Orthopaedic Surgery, Otorhinolaryngology, Paediatric Surgery, Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery, and Urology.