19 Apr 2017

By the closing deadline on 17 April 2017 at 1700 hours, a total of 1,209 returned ballot cards were received out of 3,037 ballot cards that were sent out.  Out of these, 108 cards were invalid (95 cards belonged to FAMS with arrears and 13 were disqualified).  The number of valid ballot cards is 1,101.

The counting of votes took place at 1730 hours on 18 April 2017 at the Academy’s office.  The counting of votes was conducted in the presence of two scrutineers, Dr Yeo Jin Fei and Dr Venkataraman Anantharaman, with Dr Chan Yew Weng (Scribe) as the observer.

The summary of the results is as follows:


Pursuant to Article 66(d) of the Academy’s Constitution, the candidates up to the number of vacancies who shall receive the most votes shall be declared elected.

We are pleased to declare the following candidates duly elected into the Council of the Academy (2017 – 2019):

1.       Dr Ho Kok Sun
2.       Dr Lai Fon Min
3.       Dr Lim Lay Cheng
4.       Dr Ng Wei Keong, Alan
5.       Dr Tay Jam Chin
6.       Dr Wong Chiang Yin

Please join us in congratulating the members on their election to the Council.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely