13 Apr 2019

By the closing deadline on 11 April 2019 at 1700 hours, a total of 1,283 returned ballot cards were received out of 3,303 ballot cards mailed out.  Out of these, 154 cards were invalid (153 cards belonged to FAMS with arrears and 1 was disqualified).  The number of valid ballot cards is 1,129.


The counting of votes took place at 1800 hours on 12 April 2019 at the Academy’s office.  The counting of votes was conducted in the presence of three (3) scrutineers, Dr Khoo Kei Siong, Dr Chua Wei Chong, and Dr Sophia Chew, with Dr Yeo Jin Fei (Censor-in-Chief) as the observer.


The summary of the results is as follows:



Pursuant to Article 66(d) of the Academy’s Constitution, the candidates up to the number of vacancies who shall receive the most votes shall be declared elected.


We are pleased to declare the following candidates duly elected into the Council of the Academy (2019 – 2021):


1. Dr Ho Kok Sun
2. Dr Lim Lay Cheng
3. Dr Ng Wei Keong, Alan
4. Dr Teoh Tiong Ann
5. Dr Wong Chiang Yin
6. Dr Wong Tien Yin


On behalf of the Academy, we would like to thank all 11 candidates for volunteering to serve.  Please also join us to congratulate the candidates on their election to the Council.


Thank you.


Yours sincerely