About Us

The Chapter of Surgeons was inaugurated in 1966 as one of the two Chapters under the Academy of Medicine, Singapore.  The College of Surgeons was later formed on 17 August 2004, incorporating 9 separate specialties as separate Chapters under the College.  The Chapter of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgeons was thus established and consists of Ministry of Health-accredited Plastic Surgeons who have been admitted as Fellows to the Academy of Medicine, Singapore.  They are distinguished by displaying the title of FAMS (Plastic Surgery).  The name was changed from “Chapter of Plastic Surgeons” to “Chapter of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgeons” on 31 August 2010, following approval from regulatory authorities and the College of Surgeons, Singapore, to better reflect the scope of its work.


Vision and Mission

The Chapter of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgeons is the professional representation of plastic surgeons in Singapore, and aims to be the leader in post-graduate training, education, and maintenance of professional standards.  Its aims to foster, nurture and develop innovation and advancements in the wide field of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery, which encompasses subspecialties including: aesthetic medicine and surgery, paediatric cleft and craniofacial surgery, burn care and surgery, craniomaxillofacial trauma, lymphatic surgery, oncoplastic surgery, and reconstructive microsurgery.  It is committed to helping its Fellows pursue excellence and maintaining the best standards in the challenging field of plastic surgery.  The Chapter also serves as the professional advisory body to the various organs of the State, including the Ministry of Health, and the Singapore Medical Council.



The Chapter provides professional advisory opinions to the various organs of the State. These may be found in the Chapter Annual Reports. The Chapter is also active in post-graduate medical education. It has co-organized the annual Plastic Aesthetic Surgery Meeting with the Singapore Association of Plastic Surgeons since year 2016, and the meeting is well-received by local and foreign participants, and promotes academic exchange between the various national plastic surgery Colleges and Societies. The Chapter is also active in designing and administering the Self-Learning Module (SLM) requirement beginning year 2018.



Each year at the national plastic surgery board examination, a gold medal is awarded, on a discretionary basis, to the best performing candidate at the examination. This prestigious gold medal award is presented at the Annual College of Surgeons, Singapore dinner. Only inducted Fellows of the Academy of Medicine, Singapore, may be recipients of the award. The list of past years’ gold medal recipients is here.


Travelling Fund

The Chapter aims to facilitate continual professional development of its Fellows, and to promote collaboration and foster multilateral relationships between the Chapter, and other national plastic surgery Colleges/Academies and/or societies. A total of SGD$5,000 will be allocated yearly to support Chapter Fellows for their attendance at regional national meetings. The fund aims to defray some of the costs of attending these meetings, as well as to encourage facilitate academic exchange and foster inter-College/society relationships in Asia. The application form may be downloaded here.



Board Members 2023 - 2025
Rank Name
Chairman Dr Adrian Ooi
Vice-Chairman Dr Sun Jeremy
Honorary Secretary Dr Pek Wan Sze
Members Dr Jonah Kua
  Dr Goh Lin Hon Terence
  Dr Kang Chun-Wui Gavin
  Dr Low O-Wern


Please click here to view Past Board Members.

Back To Top