The Chapter of Surgeons was inaugurated in 1966 by the Master of the Academy of Medicine, Professor K Shanmugaratnam, as one of the first two Chapters of the Academy. The first chairman elected was Mr Yahya Cohen. The Fellows of the Chapter of Surgeons were all fully trained surgeons who organised meetings in their specific fields of interest.


Over the years, it had functioned under the umbrella of the Academy and successfully organised many academic activities for its members. The Academy Council undertook a major review of the Academy's Memorandum and Articles of Association (M&AA) in 2002 and 2003 with a view to transform a number of Chapters to Colleges. The Fellows gave unanimous support during the Academy's Annual General Meeting. The aims of transforming Chapters to Colleges were to allow the Colleges more autonomy and to enhance the development of the specialties. The College of Surgeons, Singapore was incorporated on 17 August 2004.


With the formation of the College of Surgeons on 17 August 2004, the College has taken on greater steps into the surgical era. Under the wing of the College, there are 9 separate Chapters covering the disciplines of Cardiothoracic Surgery, General Surgery, Hand Surgery, Neurosurgery, Orthopaedic Surgery, Otorhinolaryngology, Paediatric Surgery, Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery, and Urology.


For the history and formation of the College, please click here.



College Coat of Arms and Motto

The College's Coat of Arms with the wings and the snake entwining the needle represents the international medical symbol. The Merlion represents Singapore where the College originates. The red on the needle is the national predominant colour of Singapore. The leaves serve as a support for this organisation, which also stand for unity and freedom. The colours blue and yellow compliment each other. The Latin motto "Veritas et Virtus" means Truth and Excellence.



College Constitution

The governance and constitution of the College is determined by its Memorandum and Articles of Association and its By-laws. The Council is empowered to make amendments to the By-laws. However, amendments to the Memorandum and Articles of Association must be passed by the House.





To be the recognised leader in training, education, advocacy and enhancement of professional satisfaction for surgery and its subspecialties.




To promote and maintain the highest professional and ethical standards in surgery and its subspecialties.



For the College’s Memorandum and Articles of Association, please click here.



Past Chairmen (Chapter of Surgeons, 1966 - 2004) & Presidents (College of Surgeons, 2004 - )







1966 - 1969 Dr Yahya Cohen

1985 - 1987


Dr Tan Ser Kiat

2002 - 2005


Dr Colin Song

1969 - 1971


Dr Choo Jim Eng

1987 - 1988 Dr Low Cheng Hock 2005 - 2007 Dr Anthony Heng
1971 - 1973 Dr V K Pillay 1988 - 1989 Dr Walter T L Tan 2007 - 2009 Dr Chan Heng Thye
1973 - 1976 Dr R M Nambiar 1990 - 1992 Dr Goh Hak Su 2009 - 2011 Dr Low Yin Peng
1976 - 1978 Dr Tan Ngoh Chuan 1992 - 1993 Dr Julian T K Wee 2011 - 2013 Dr Sayampanathan Sarvaselan R E
1978 - 1980

Dr Robert Pho Wan Heng

1993 - 1995 Dr K Satkunanantham 2013 - 2015 Prof Kesavan Esuvaranathan
1980 - 1982 Dr Lee Seng Teik 1995 - 1998 Dr Tan Kok Chai 2015 - 2017 Dr Ho Kok Sun
1982 - 1983 Dr Wu Dar Ching

1998 - 2000


Dr Abhilash Balakrishnan 2017 - 2019 Dr Chua Wei Chong
1983 - 1985 Dr Gopal Baratham 2000 - 2002 Dr Christopher H K Goh 2019 -  Dr Tan Yeh Hong


Back To Top