The Academy held its second Induction Comitia for the year on 22 October 2016 at the Health Promotion Board Auditorium. Chairman, Government Parliamentary Committee for Health, Singapore and Member of Parliament for Tanjong Pagar GRC, Dr Chia Shi-Lu graced the event as the Guest-of-Honour.

In his speech, Master of the Academy, Dr Sayampanathan spoke on the importance of the role of the Academy in providing professional opinions and guidelines which would improve the development of healthcare in Singapore.   He also highlighted on the establishment of the Deanery which will be focused on continuing professional development.

A total of 64 new Fellows were formally admitted into the Academy that afternoon and Dr Patrick Tseng Seng Kwong from the College of Dental Surgeons led his fellow inductees for the pledge-taking.

Dr Chua Siew Eng from the College of Psychiatrists commented: "At the Induction Comitia, the Master and Dr Chia Shi-Lu, reinforced the message that our professional skills are first and foremost for our patients.  After all, clinical work brings duty and privilege to heal others; this gives us professional fulfilment, as well as new challenges to develop skills and knowledge.  We were reminded that in the path towards continuous learning and self-improvement, we should always show humanity and compassion to others.  As Master conferred the Fellowship certificate, I felt deep gratitude for the opportunity to learn from peers and seniors, as well as from our patients along the way."




Master delivering his welcome address.  
Guest-of-Honour, Dr Chia Shi-Lu, giving his address.   



The Induction Comitia also witnessed the graduation of 39 trainees who had successfully completed their diplomas under the Staff Registrar Scheme.

Ms  Fatima Reyaz Singaporewalla was awarded the FJ Jayaratnam Book Prize by the Chapter of Geriatricians, College of Physicians for her outstanding performance under the Diploma in Geriatric Medicine in Hospital and ILTC (Intermediate and Long Term Care).



Induction Comitia Programme
Address by Dr Sayampanathan, Master, Academy of Medicine, Singapore


The Academy also presented the Annals Best Publications Award 2015 to the top three papers based on clinical impact, study design and research methodologies, data analysis and quality of data interpretation and balanced discussion.  The Annals Gold Reviewer Award 2015 was also presented to the reviewers for their outstanding reviews done for the Annals.




Dr Patrick Tseng and Council members taking their pledge.
Newly admitted Fellows of the Academy.



AMS Council members with Guest-of-Honour.























Past Link


Back To Top