The Academy held its first Induction Comitia for the year at the NUHS Tower Block Auditorium on 23 April 2016.  Mr Chee Hong Tat, Minister of State, Ministry of Communications and Information and Ministry of Health, Singapore graced the event as the Guest-of-Honour.

In Mr Chee’s address, he spoke on the need to focus on providing quality healthcare to the elderly and the challenges of dealing with the chronic conditions of the population.  He also highlighted on the Academy’s reorganization to better serve its role in emphasising professionalism and ethics.

Dr Lim spoke on the importance of Continuing Professional Development in his address and broadening qualities and skills so as to educate the next generation of doctors.  These factors are also crucial so as to provide better healthcare to the community.

A total of 78 new Fellows were formally admitted into the Academy that afternoon and Dr Ong Kiat Hoe from the College of Physicians led his fellow inductees for the pledge-taking.


Master delivering his welcome address.  
Guest-of-Honour, Mr Chee Hong Tat giving his address.   



The Induction Comitia also witnessed the graduation of 26 trainees who had successfully completed their diplomas under the Staff Registrar Scheme.  


Ms Dabhade Priya was awarded the FJ Jayaratnam Book Prize by the Chapter of Geriatricians, College of Physicians for her outstanding performance under the Diploma in Geriatric Medicine in Hospital and ILTC (Intermediate and Long Term Care).



Induction Comitia Programme
Address by Dr Lim Shih Hui, Master, Academy of Medicine, Singapore
Address by Guest-of-Honour, Mr Chee Hong Tat, Minister of State, Ministry of Communications and Information and Ministry of Health, Singapore



Dr Ong Kiat Hoe and Council members taking their pledge.
Newly admitted Fellows of the Academy


The Academy also presented Certificate of Appreciation to Dr Gwee Choon Eng Matthew, Dr Dujeepa Dasharatha Samarasekera, Dr Abhilash Balakrishnan, Dr T Thirumoorthy and Dr Soon Tuck Loong Derek for their contribution as faculty members of the  Master of Health Professions Education – Singapore (MHPE-S) programme.

AMS Council members with Guest-of-Honour.





















Past Link


Back To Top