The Academy held its Induction Comitia on 22 September 2018 at the Health Promotion Board (HPB) Auditorium.  Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Health, Mr Amrin Amin graced the event as the Guest-of-Honour. 


Guest-of-Honour with the Academy’s Council.


A total of 67 new Fellows were formally admitted into the Academy that afternoon.  Dr Lucy Leong from the College of Public Health & Occupational Physicians led her fellow inductees for the pledge-taking.

Newly inducted Fellows of the Academy taking their pledge, led by Chief Inductee Dr Lucy Leong.


In his speech, Dr S R E Sayampanathan addressed the inductees of their obligation to maintain high standard of professional and ethical practices: "As a member of the medical profession, you are held in the highest esteem by the public and society.  They depend on a reliable and trustworthy healthcare system and look to you for the relief of their suffering and ailments.  This trust is contingent on the profession maintaining the highest standards of professional practice and conduct.  You must therefore strive to continually strengthen the trust that has been bestowed on the profession."


Mr Amrin Amin highlighted the role of the Academy and its close collaboration with the Ministry of Health: "The Ministry of Health (MOH) regularly engages the Academy and its Fellows on clinical practice guidelines, professional standards, adoption and utilisation of new technologies, and the development and practice of specialists."



Induction Comitia Programme
Address by Dr S R E Sayampanathan, Master, Academy of Medicine, Singapore
Address by Guest-of-Honour, Mr Amrin Amin, Senior Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Health, Singapore



The Induction Comitia also witnessed the graduation of candidates from the Master of Health Professions Education Singapore (MHPE-S) and Staff Registrar Scheme Diploma.


Graduates and Faculty of the MHPE-S programme, together with Dean (centre), AMS Deanery.


From left: FJ Jayaratnam Book Prize recipients, Ms Jumalon Elaine Capili and Ms Piodena-Aportadera Melissa Rose Berlin, and Annals Gold Review Award 2017 recipient, Dr Ho Lai Yun.


Ms Jumalon Elaine Capili and Ms Piodena-Aportadera Melissa Rose Berlin were both awarded the FJ Jayaratnam Book Prize under the Diploma in Geriatric Medicine in Hospital and ILTC (Intermediate and Long Term Care) by the Chapter of Geriatricians, College of Physicians, Singapore.


That afternoon, Past Master Dr Ho Lai Yun was also presented with the Annals’ Gold Reviewer Award 2017.







Past Link


Back To Top